
 

 

The Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) program was created to encourage and assist 
individuals and families in saving funds for the purpose of supporting individuals with disabilities 
to maintain health, independence and quality of life; and to provide secure funding for qualified 
disability expenses on behalf of designated beneficiaries with disabilities that will supplement, 
but not supplant, benefits provided through private insurance, the Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) program, the Medicaid program, the beneficiary’s employment and other sources. 

The federal ABLE Act was signed into law in December 2014. The Michigan ABLE Program 
was signed into law in October 2015. The Michigan Department of Treasury will administer the 
Michigan ABLE Program (MiABLE). 

ABLE FAQs 

What does the ABLE Act do? 

The law allows people with disabilities to have special savings accounts (ABLE accounts) for 
disability-related expenses without losing eligibility under Supplemental Security Income (SSI), 
Medicaid and certain other public benefits. 

Who is eligible for an ABLE account? 

The account beneficiary must meet the definition of an “eligible individual.” The beneficiary can 
be any age, but his or her disability must have begun before age 26. In addition, to be eligible, 
the beneficiary must be entitled to Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits or SSI 
benefits, or obtain a disability certification that meets IRS rules.  Contributions may be made by 
the beneficiary, parents, grandparents, friends or others.  

Can an eligible individual have more than one ABLE account? 

No. Only one ABLE account can be opened for each beneficiary.  The beneficiary may use the 
plan offered by his or her state of residence or by any other state. 

How can an ABLE account be used? 

An ABLE account must be used for “qualified disability expenses” that relate to the designated 
beneficiary’s blindness or disability and are for the benefit of that beneficiary in maintaining or 
improving his or her health, independence or quality of life. Internal Revenue Code, Section 
529(e)(5), lists the following as qualified disability expenses: 

education;  housing;  transportation;  employment training and support;  assistive technology 
and personal support services; health; prevention and wellness; financial management and 
administrative services; legal fees; expenses for oversight and monitoring; funeral and burial 



 

expenses; and any other expenses that may be identified from time to time in future guidance 
published in the Internal Revenue Bulletin.  

How much money can be deposited in an ABLE account? 

Annual contributions to an ABLE account cannot exceed the individual gift tax exclusion in effect 
for the calendar year in which the contribution is made (in 2016, the amount is $14,000).  

For Michigan, the maximum aggregate contribution limit for a designated beneficiary is 
$500,000 – this includes the combined balances in an ABLE account, prepaid tuition (e.g. MET), 
or Educational Savings Accounts (e.g. MESP) in the beneficiary’s name.  

How does an ABLE account impact SSI payments? 

The first $100,000 in an ABLE account would not be considered a resource when determining 
eligibility for Supplemental Security Income (SSI). If the account exceeds $100,000, the 
designated beneficiary could lose their monthly SSI cash payment but would continue to receive 
Medicaid benefits. 

Is a distribution for housing expenses considered a resource by the Social Security 
Administration? 

A distribution for housing expenses from an ABLE account would be considered a resource 
when determining eligibility for Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Contact your local Social 
Security Office for details. 

What is the MiABLE tax advantage? 

Distributions from an ABLE account, including any earnings, are not taxed if used for qualified 
disability expenses. If a distribution is not used for a qualified disability expense, that amount 
could be subject to income tax and imposed a 10% penalty. 

Distributions not used for qualified disability expenses could also affect other benefits. For 
federal income tax purposes, the ABLE owner should keep careful records when funds are 
withdrawn. 

Furthermore, contributions to Michigan’s 529 ABLE accounts are deductible up to $5,000.00 for 
a taxpayer filing a single Michigan Income Tax return and $10,000.00 for a married taxpayer 
filing a joint Michigan Income Tax return. 

When can I open a MiABLE account?  

MiABLE opens for enrollment November 1, 2016. 

Where can I learn more? 

Go to www.michigan.gov/miable for more details. 


